Forgiveness Deux

How do we begin to forgive someone?  That is a very good question to which my answer would be, “I don’t have a clue”.  However, I think that a good place to start would be for us to start by acknowledging the hurt that has been caused.  So many times we bury the hurt and pain by saying, “I’m okay” or “Whatever”, as if it didn’t bother us at all; all the while knowing that we were hurt deeply.  Once we acknowledge the hurt, we are admitting to ourselves that it has occurred and that the pain is real.  Next, I think that we should pray and ask for guidance on how to proceed.  Should we forgive in private or should we talk with the person who has hurt us?  How should we handle the situation? Finally, I think the most important part is the forgiving, letting it go and letting God take care of the past hurts and those who caused them.

I have been stuck, held captive by the hurt of things that people have done to me in the past four years.  These were people that I trusted and I thought they meant well.  I quickly found out that they didn’t.  I was lied to and lied on.  I was given false hopes and dreams, I was taken advantage of and in some ways my character was attacked.  All by people who called me “friend”.  HA!  In these four years I have been plagued with the why me/woe is me attitude.  I prayed about it; cried about it; got mad about it and none of this really worked until recently.  Recently, it came to me that I needed to forgive.  Forgive those who hurt me not for them, but for me to be free to live my life completely as God intended.  That’s what I’m going to do right now.

Well, here it is.  “To anyone and everyone that has caused me grief and pain during 2009 – 2013, I forgive you.  It’s over I’m done and I give it all to God.  It’s time for me to live my life and be who I was created to be.  It does not matter what you’ve said or done in the past, because I’m free.  I forgive you completely.  Now, watch my smoke!”

Join me, set yourself free and live your life to the fullest!  #Live, Laugh, L.O.V.E.

Leave a Reply

